Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > My Range Rover > New to forum & new to Range Rover
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
RG2024

United Kingdom 2006 Range Rover Supercharged 4.2 SC V8 Java Black
New to forum & new to Range Rover

Just an introduction post, I'm not a prolific poster on forums but I'll be on here quite a lot in the near future mainly reading & learning about the L322 and probably looking for parts. I've already spent a lot of time reading articles on here and learnt a lot, it seems a really helpful and friendly forum especially compared with others I've been on previously (other car makes).

It's my first foray into the Land Rover world having owned only German cars before, mostly VWs. We recently moved to somewhere more rural and I've quickly realised that the family car is going to take a hammering with country roads & young children, well I convinced my Wife of that so I have an excuse to get another car. Being a hopeless car obsessive I decided I also needed something to keep me busy as my other cars seem to be behaving fairly well and life was getting too easy. So the most logical thing to me was to buy something that is expensive to run & probably going to need work on it at frequent intervals at great expense; most of my friends & family think I'm a lunatic.

I've done most types of jobs on my old VWs and I like the satisfaction I get from doing even simple jobs, even after original swearing combinations and cut knuckles. That's not to say those jobs have completely prepared me for this car which I can already see is a very different project. It's a different era in terms of tech but I'm looking forward to the learning curve and getting stuck in. No doubt there will be times where I regret some life choices, buying a 'cheap' high mileage Range Rover for example but my plan is to keep this for the foreseeable, give it some much needed TLC and over time bring back some of its former glory.