Advertise on fullfatrr.com »

Home > General > Range Rover Wannabe
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
AndyLandy

Range Rover Wannabe

Hi folks, I originally put this question in the intro page as I haven't posted before but it is probably better placed here.

I've owned Land Rover's for about 10 years but only extending to a late S111 & at present an ex-MoD defender 110. I've decided that as I'm now officially old (40), I deserve a little bit of luxury and am looking to buy a Range Rover L322.

I'm an aircraft engineer so would be looking to do as much of the maintenance and repairs as possible;

a) because I enjoy it
b) because I don't really want to pay LR labour charges!

I've been trawling your excellent site, there's loads of really helpful and clued up people and info on here which in no small part has helped me to make the decision to go FF and for my budget I'd be looking at a TD6 or LPG 4.4V8. Given the seeming issues with the TD6 transmission, I am leaning strongly towards the V8...and, well, it's a V8! You seem to be able to get more car for your money with the V8 and will return similar economy to the TD6 on LPG.

I would intend to get a scan tool such as the IID to assist with diagnostics, but a question I have is, in the experience of forum members, how many jobs can't be carried out in the home workshop and will necessitate a visit to LR to plug into their diagnostics or require special tools? I have access to most engineering workshop type things such as hoists, hydraulic presses and general tooling so that's not a problem, it's just the visits to LR I would like to keep to a minimum.

I look forward to learning a bit more about these excellent bits of kit. I appreciate that owning one can't necessarily be done on a budget, but I like to do things myself wherever possible.

Cheers

Andy, Salisbury

Post #306089 18th Jan 2015 5:01pm
CEEGEE

United Kingdom